### New Zealand.

#### ANNO TRICESIMO

## VICTORIÆ REGINÆ. No. 68.

#### ANALYSIS.

6. Northern boundary of the Mount Herbert District. 7. Registration Officers to continue as such in

certain districts

- Title. Preamble.
  Short Title.
  Description of Port Chalmers electoral district amended.
  Gold Field townships not to form part of other Electoral Districts.
  Western and Southern boundaries of the Avon District. 8. New Electoral Rolls to be formed in certain districts. New Electoral Rolls to be forwarded to Colonial Secretary for publication.
   Alterations in certain Electoral Districts.
- District.
- 5. Eastern boundary of the Heathcote District.

# AN ACT to amend "The Representation Title. Act 1865." [8th October 1866.]

HEREAS it is expedient that certain errors in the Schedule to Preamble. "The Representation Act 1865" should be rectified

BE IT THEREFORE ENACTED by the General Assembly of New Zealand in Parliament assembled and by the authority of the same as follows

I. The Short Title of this Act shall be "The Representation Act Short Title. Amendment Act 1866.'

II. The Schedule to "The Representation Act 1865" shall be Description of Port altered as follows that is to say—in the definition of the boundaries of district amended. the Electoral District of Port Chalmers as set forth in the said Schedule the Roman numerals "XI" shall be substituted for the Roman numerals "II" and the said Act shall be read as if such

alteration were originally part thereof. III. The several townships of Lawrence Queenstown Clyde Alex- Gold Field townships not to form part of andra Cromwell Arrowtown Hamilton Dunstan Creek Roxburgh and other Electoral Dis-Havelock constituted by the said recited Act into an Electoral District triets. under the name of the "Gold Field Towns" shall be respectively excluded from and not form part of any other of the Electoral Districts named and defined in the said Schedule notwithstanding that such townships are situate within the boundaries of other Electoral Districts as set forth in the said Schedule.

IV. The western and southern boundaries of the Avon District as Western and southern set forth in the said Schedule shall be varied and be as follows-

- western boundary of the Avon District shall be the The Waimakariri and Ross Road and the Weedon and Ross Road.
- The southern boundary of the Avon District shall be the north bank of the River Avon from its mouth to the point where it meets the boundary of the City of Christchurch Electoral

Supplement to the New Zealand Gazette No. 47, of 17th August, 1866.

boundaries of the Avon District.

#### Representation Act Amendment.

District thence by the boundary of that district to the south-east corner of Rural Section No. 10 thence by the south boundary of that section and the south-east boundary of Section No. 145 till it is crossed by a creek running easterly into the River Heathcote the middle of that creek till it meets a line in continuation of the south-east boundary of Section No. 180 the line so continued to the south-east boundary of Section No. 180 the middle of the road lying on the north-west boundary of Section No. 156 as far as a point where that road first meets a branch of the River Heathcote a line drawn thence due west to a point where it crosses the Great South Road and by the Great South Road.

V. The eastern boundary of the Heathcote District as set forth in the said Schedule shall be varied and be as follows—

The western bank of the River Halswell to the western boundary of Section 1879 thence by that boundary and the Ahuriri Bush Road to the southern boundary of Section No. 1901 by that boundary and the ridge of the hills by Cooper's Knob and Cass' Peak to the north-west corner of the Town of Lyttelton District by that district the sea and the shore of the Heathcote Estuary.

VI. The northern boundary of the Mount Herbert District as set forth in the said Schedule shall be varied and be as follows—

The southern shore of Lake Ellesmere the Heathcote District and the Town of Lyttelton District.

VII. Immediately after the passing of this Act the Registration Officer of the several Electoral Districts of Selwyn Avon Heathcote Mount Herbert Roslyn and Port Chalmers and of the several Electoral Districts within which the townships mentioned in the third section of this Act except the Gold Field Towns District are situate as such Districts are constituted by "The Representation Act 1865" shall respectively be Registration Officers for the said several Electoral Districts as altered by this Act as if appointed thereto under "The Regulation of Electors Act 1858."

VIII. As soon as conveniently may be after the passing of this Act the Registration Officers for the time being of the several Electoral Districts following viz. Selwyn Avon Heathcote Mount Herbert Roslyn and Port Chalmers and of the several Electoral Districts within which the townships mentioned in the third section of this Act are respectively situate except the Gold Field Towns District as constituted by "The Representation Act 1865" shall respectively each for his own District form new separate Electoral Rolls for the said several Electoral Districts as altered by this Act and for the purpose of forming such new Electoral Rolls every person whose name is on the Roll of any of the said last mentioned Electoral Districts as constituted by "The Representation Act 1865" shall be placed on the Electoral Roll of the District as altered by this Act in which the tenements or hereditaments in respect of which he is registered are situate.

IX. Upon such new Electoral Rolls being so formed by each officer as aforesaid the same shall forthwith be transmitted by such officer to the Colonial Secretary and shall be published in such convenient manner as the Governor shall direct and from the day of such publication the Electoral Roll so formed for each District shall be the Electoral Roll to be used for such District for all purposes until a revised Electoral Roll for the same shall be in force under the provisions of the law for the time being for the Registration of Electors.

Eastern boundary of the Heathcote District.

Northern boundary of the Mount Herbert District.

Registration Officers to continue as such in certain districts,

New Electoral Rolls to be formed in certain districts.

New Electoral Rolls to be forwarded to Colonial Secretary for publication. 408

X. The following alterations are hereby made in the description Alterations in certain of the boundaries of the undermentioned Electoral Districts contained Electoral Districts.

in the said Schedule that is to say— Taieri District—The word "Meggat-burn" is substituted for the word "Nugget-burn." Bruce District—The word "Whakaroa" is substituted for the

word "Wangaroa."

Clutha District—The words "in a north-easterly direction" are inserted after the word "line" at the end of the third line the words "source of the" are omitted in the last line but one.

Oamaru-The word "Kohurau" is substituted for the word "Kurau."

Hampden District—The word " Caswell's " is substituted for the word " Carswell's."

#### WELLINGTON, NEW ZEALAND:

Printed under the authority of the New Zealand Government by GEORGE DIDSBURY, Government Printer.